Image courtesy: www.themetapicture.com

Fishing for Puns

Adwait Joshi
2 min readDec 21, 2020

I like puns.

Especially puns involving fish names. I am a sucker for them.

I do keep herring names of fish names that are funny. And today, I have decided to try my loach with them Fish Puns.

It would, of course, be mighty shellfish (ok, that one’s from “How I met your Mother.” So, don’t sue me.) on my part to keep these to myself. So here are some Oysters of wisdom or Salmon of knowledge, if you will. (*Please do click on the links. They’ve pedagogical benefits. )

Image Credit: Wikipedia

What did the bully fish do? He beat the carp out of that fish.

Image Credit: Wikipedia

What do you call a not-so-bright fish? A Dhufish.

Image Credit: Wikipedia

What fish talks intelligibly? Gibberfish

Image Credit: Wikipedia

What did the fisherman do when they couldn’t catch any? They louvar their expectations.

Image Credit: Wikipedia

What do you call a fish that successfully escaped the net? A high- Flier.

Image Credit: Wikipedia

Few fish decided to form a committee. First to join were the Flounder members.

Image Credit: Wikipedia

What do you call the moment when a fish comes to some sort of revelation or truth about themselves? The Opah Moment

Now, I might keep updating this list as I cast a wider net. If you know of any more, let minnow.

--

--